Get Acrobat Reader link Link to Adobe Reader

HACCP Programs
Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP) is a science-based management system for assuring that many types of food remain safe from chemical, physical and biological hazards at critical points along the journey from production to consumption.

HACCP is designed for use in all segments of the food industry from growing, harvesting, processing, manufacturing, distributing, and merchandising to preparing food for consumption. Prerequisite programs such as current Good Manufacturing Practices (GMPs) are an essential foundation for the development and implementation of successful HACCP plans. Food safety systems based on the HACCP principles have been successfully applied in food processing plants, retail food stores, and food service operations. The seven principles of HACCP have been universally accepted by government agencies, trade associations and the food industry around the world.

The seven principles of HACCP are:
• Conduct a hazard analysis
• Determine the critical control points (CCPs)
• Establish critical limits
• Establish monitoring procedures
• Establish corrective actions
• Establish verification procedures
• Establish record-keeping and documentation procedures.

Members of the FBNS Extension Program offer Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point Workshops year round in a variety of topic areas - from juice to seafood.

Click here for the current listing of workshops.