SDFRC Current Events

Todd Klaenhammer Receives the UNC System O. Max Gardner Award The award, which has been given annually since 1949, was established by the will of N.C. Gov. Oliver Max Gardner. It is the only award for which all faculty members of the 17 UNC campuses are eligible and is considered the UNC system's highest faculty honor.

News release.

Dr. Todd Klaenhammer Dr. Todd Klaenhammer has been awarded the Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence by the NC State Board of Trustees. The medal, which is the highest honor bestowed on a faculty member by the trustees of the university, recognizes the contributions of faculty members in teaching, research and service.

Dr. Klaenhammer, a leading expert on the beneficial roles of lactic acid bacteria, has served NC State University for more than twenty-eight years. He is a Distinguished University Professor, William Neal Reynolds Professor of Food Science and Microbiology and a member of the National Academy of Sciences.   

Dr. Andrea Azcarate-Peril was inducted into the NC State chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta Honor Society for Agriculture at the 2007 initiation program and awards banquet in April '07.
With the symbolic passing of a ribbon, Dr. MaryAnne Drake became the first woman president in the 101 year history of the American Dairy Science Association (ADSA). Outgoing president, Dr. Gary Hartnell, passed the presidential ribbon in a ceremony in July 2007 at the annual meeting in San Antonio, TX.

MaryAnne is an Associate Professor in the Food Science Department at North Carolina State University. She serves as Director of the NCSU Sensory Service Center, the DMI Pilot Sensory Lab, and is actively involved in the Southeast Dairy Foods Research Center. Her research program is focused on flavor and flavor chemistry of dairy products.

Dr. Allen Foegeding, NC State University William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor of Food Science was named an IFT Fellow in 2006. He was also honored by the NC State Alumni Association with the Alumni Outstanding Research Award.

Since coming to NC State in 1982, Allen's research program has made significant contributions to the understanding of the molecular mechanisms of protein functionality in foods.

SDFRC Advisory Committee The SDFRC Operational Advisory Committee in Raleigh for the annual meeting, August 2006
Erika Pfeiler In August 2006, The Triangle Community Foundation announced that Erika Pfeiler has received the George H. Hitchings New Investigator Award in Health Research.

The award provides $4000 to be used for travel, books, or other enrichment expenses. Erika is a doctoral student working in the area of functional genomics with Dr. Todd Klaenhammer.

The Klaenhammer Lab Group at the Symposium on Lactic Acid Bacteria (Lab 8) in the Netherlands. Aug. 28 - Sept. 1, 2005.
Dr. Klaenhammer's group share a booth at Sullivan's Steakhouse at the SDFRC/OAC reception for the annual meeting, in August 2005.
CDRF Executive Director Joseph O'Donnell presented SDFRC Director Todd Klaenhammer with the William C. Haines Dairy Science Award in recognition of his contribution to the field of dairy science at the 2006 Symposium on Advances in Dairy Product Technology.
Dr. Chris Daubert holds his recently published book, co-written with Dr. James Steffe, titled "Bioprocessing Pipelines: Rheology and Analysis." Published by Freeman Press
Eric, Rodolphe, Todd
Eric Altermann, Rodolphe Barrangou and Todd Klaenhammer celebrate the July 2003 publication in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the paper they co-authored titled "Functional and comparative genomic analyses of an operon involved in fructo-oligosaccharide utilization by Lactobacillus acidophilus"